Skip to content

The quiet conservative

December 10, 2010

Since the start of the fees row, I decided not to blog about it. As far as hot topics go, I know this is one with actual fire. Fire in the eyes of the angry student, and fire on the streets of London. But after the events of yesterday, I believe at least two of the major attacks in London were totally unjustified and show nothing more than the embarrassingly unpatriotic people that think violence will help the situation.

Liberals (and to a lesser extent, angry conservative voters); did you really expect any different from the party you voted for? I’ll tell you exactly what was wrong with this election and what it did for politics: it turned an election into a show of X-Factor where the public were Simon Cowell. I hope to no ponder into tabloid-like newspaper talk again, but it’s time we opened our eyes. In the past, there was a huge focus on who your local MP was. It was not about who has the best comebacks when three middle-aged men stood by separate podiums. We were supposed to be voting for a local MP to represent our constituency in parliament. Instead, the entire nature of politics was romanticised, and it gave people higher expectations from politicians than ever, all just to get people more involved and interested in politics. But I believe it has come at a great cost. Prince Charles and Camilla’s car was bombarded, the Treasury’s windows were smashed, Winston Churchill’s London statue has been defaced and urinated on. Do you want to know who is really ruining our country? It’s the angry student violently protesting in London. What has the Royal family done? Nothing. What has the legacy of Winston Churchill done? Nothing.

The conservatives haven’t ever been greatly popular with the university student. Why? Because being Conservative is exactly the opposite of what students want. They are not dynamic. So, why must there be uproar now? The conservatives (more specifically, the coalition) have been dynamic to create change; with the end result being to fix the economy. That’s what needs to be done.

Will I carry on studying after I graduate Bachelors? Maybe. Will that cost be a lot higher than it currently is? Yes. But it’s time we faced the facts, and went to British roots – we are not freeloaders and we should be accountable. I accept the higher fees.

Going back to expectations… Does history not show us that politicians aren’t the sincere people they were represented as, in debates prior to the election? I didn’t fall into the trap of choosing my party based on the debates. Instead, for the past two years I have read my party’s local newsletter and read all of the MP’s leaflets which came through my door. Are all politicians honest? Not by any stretch. But as a group, rest assured, they just want their time in office to be a legacy, and that is exactly what the coalition want. They want to be known as the party who fixed our broken economy.

I would totally understand if the Liberals face some seriously hard times in the next election. But what people should really be looking at is the views of their constituency’s MP. Because that is who represented their people.

I know this post will anger some people, including people I know personally. But this is my view. You have definitely shown yours. And at least my view is sticking to politics instead of ruining the city of London. The only people that I’m confident are hindering our economy right now are the violent students. London is a major tourist base for the UK. But, if I was a foreigner, I wouldn’t want to come to a country where educated people are being anarchists and undermining the prestige of our Royal family and historical politicians, and even fallen troops.

The entire country is aware of the large amount of students that are angry, but can we now just let the politicians get on with their jobs. The decision has been made. Maybe next election you’ll make what you believe is a wiser choice on your ballot paper. Good day.

P.S. If you look at the conservatives record on economic growth historically through changing policies, you might start to believe that they might in fact know what they’re doing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. James Watson permalink
    December 10, 2010 20:10

    Disagree with the passed legislation. I understand the government have to find the money somehow, yet passing the problem down to the next generation, who have never been able to vote on how the country should be run, or have not done anything to screw up the economy is simply wrong. I agree fees should go up slightly, but tripling them is ridiculous. Not to mention the leading economists who have come out and said that the fee increases will not save money. Despite this not affecting me, I worry that the people on lower incomes will be put off university. I know someone like me, who through mostly laziness only just managed to make it to university, would now think twice about coming. I know I certainly wouldn’t have come.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The quiet conservative « Jordan A. White's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment